“Ugly Tacky Christmas Sweaters” By Kathleen Heady

6 Jan

HIS & HERS

How to Make Ugly Christmas Sweaters

So Christmas is near and all those wonderful Christmas party invites are just around the corner. So to be prepared,  I decided that me and my significant other would wear Tacky Ugly Christmas Sweaters to the next  Christmas Party we were invited to.  So  the journey of finding sweaters began…..

We thought this would be an easy day shopping for “Tacky Ugly Christmas Sweaters” at our local mall and stores. However, this was not the case. We went to JCpenny’s, Macy’s, Target, Walmart, Value Village & Goodwill and did not find any tacky christmas sweaters. We drove around all over. We were out of luck. We were looking for a “particular look” more like Grandma 80’s sweater or something like from the movie “Step Brothers.” We wanted the “look.” And, because this was last minute we didn’t have time to order anything online from a specialty store.

Finding “The Look”

We were looking for at the time was suppose to be something like this…

So when we couldn’t find the “look” we knew we would have to do this ourselves. So we hit up one more Goodwill in our area and found the “perfect” blank canvas sweaters for under $10. So, after our purchase at Goodwill, we got home and after sitting down staring the kids Christmas stockings,  Ding-Dong! My light bulb went on.

The Idea

There in my living room looking at my kids Christmas Stockings I said to my better half,” Man I want to cut that Santa Clause out and glue it to my sweater.” He said,” Sounds great babe!” So I had it, I was going to go to my local Dollar Store, buy more Christmas Stockings, cut out the already made felt figures and glue them onto the sweaters. I had it! It was honestly perfect, time saving, entertaining, fun and inexpensive.

So How did I doit……With the ingredients below sweater making was simple. Basically I cut out the stocking figures placed them on our canvas sweaters how I wanted them then started gluing. Same for all the additional “touches” to the sweaters i.e.; beads, musical tie, bells, presents ect. were all placed on sweater then glued carefully. 

The List Goes…..

Glue Gun

Glue Sticks

Sweater

Stockings

Scissors

Dollar Store Run (x-mas decor needed for project)

About 1-2 Hours of Time

Total Cost per Sweater:

Under $20

FYI: Example Christmas stockings used to make these sweaters

Again Our “Tacky Ugly Christmas Sweaters” Photo

Result

I have to say we were a “Hit” at the Christmas party we went to. All the guest  loved our sweaters and could not stop talking about them. Every guest was amazed we made them, especially mine, as I met new guest my Christmas songs were coming out from my tie attached to my sweater. It was funny. I truly had a good time doing this and look forward to the next Ugly Tacky Christmas Sweater party I go to. 

5 Responses to ““Ugly Tacky Christmas Sweaters” By Kathleen Heady”

  1. A Life Worth Styling January 4, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    So awesome! I will save this for next year.

  2. PiedType January 5, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    Aren’t you clever! Love the way the sweaters turned out. What’s so funny about the “ugly Christmas sweater” thing, which seems to have become very big in recent years, is that when I was growing up back in the 1950s, such sweaters were considered fun, stylish, appropriate, etc. No one ever mentioned their being ugly. We thought they were cool.

  3. gardensunshine February 27, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    OMG, i love those…. Makes me want to host one of those parties next year!! hahah

Leave a Reply

