DIY: Dog Bed

27 Jan

065

Photographs by Kathleen Heady

-“Teddy and Lily like it” 🙂

I decided to make my little Yorkie girl this bed for her. I had recently been looking at dog bed ideas while searching on Google images and had came across several dog bed ideas which sparked an idea of using the picnic basket I had laying out in my garage that I picked up from a thrift shop. 

019

Before Photo 

The white color looked dull and the picnic basket itself seemed to have been sitting in the garage for sometime on its own. Therefore, I decided to give this beautiful picnic basket a nice makeover with a little spray painting and details i.e; legs, pillow top, new handle and color. I chose the color candy apple red to paint it. I made the legs for this picnic basket as well. I picked a long probably 8ft, 2×2 piece of wood from Home Depot for about $1.80 and cut the legs to 4 1/2 ‘ in length each. I then stained them a sand bleach color.

Then I drilled the holes into the wicker basket and using  1/4′ washer and 1 1/4 ‘screws I drilled and inserted each screw and leg into the basket for a finished look.  I also added a new handle to the basket. As before it had a standard wicker handle that was long, dull and not very functional as it did not attach properly any longer. So, I cut the old wicker handle off and inserted the turquoise rock pieces instead to pop some color onto the red splash background. Then it was time for cushioning. I happened to have some Americana pillows in my house and one that fitted perfectly into the basket. With a little layering at the bottom I was able to add the pillow to the top for a perfect fit. And, Walla! Doggie Bed.

041

After Photo
14 Responses to “DIY: Dog Bed”

  1. mrsabbywilk January 28, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    This is precious! I don’t have a dog, but if I did I would totally do this! Great job!

  2. rockkandycult February 1, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    This is such a cute idea! love it :]

  3. roylcoblog February 1, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Wonderful ideas! I am a huge thrift shop craft fan and love to see these kinds of ideas pop out from unexpected materials. Love it!

    • homecreationseveryday February 1, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

      Thank you! I love Thrifty Shopping it is so much fun and the things you can make out of something used or old is so amazing and resourceful!

  4. TammyeHoney February 3, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    I love to recreate items that are used and bring new life to them…such a great use for this…My dogs are a bit too large for this although my cat does occupy a wicker picnic basket that I found from a thrift store on occasion lol… Thank You so much for sharing

  5. theaddblogger February 4, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Very cute! Great idea, I love repurposing thrifty stuff.

  6. Sweets. Eats. And Crafts February 5, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    This is too cute!! And your dogs make it even cuter!! I only wish my bulldog would fit in and not eat a bed like that 🙂

  7. jmait February 5, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    This is adorable!!

  8. kkneifl28 February 7, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    This is so cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Comfortable and Affordable Dog Beds | Content Central - January 27, 2013

    […] DIY: Dog Bed […]

  2. How To Buy Dog Beds And Keep Those Tails Wagging | Content Central - January 27, 2013

    […] DIY: Dog Bed […]

Leave a Reply

